

DIRECTORATE OF DISTANCE EDUCATION UNIVERSITY OF JAMMU-180006 www.distanceeducationju.in

## December 29, 2022

Jammu December 29, 2022 Directorate of Distance Education (DDE), University of Jammu today organised a "Guruparav Celebration and Extension Lectures" for in-service teachers enrolled under the B.Ed. Programme at DDE for the current Academic Session. Nearly 250 In-Service Teachers attended the Celebration. Following Resource persons were present on this occasion.

Dr C.L Shivgotra Rtd Professor ,Dr Pragat Singh Garcha( Principal GHG College Education Gursar Sudhar Ludhiana ) ,Dr. Yogesh Sharma (Associate Professor Ramgarhia College of Education Phagwara),Dr Vikas Kumar ( Associate Professor DAN College of Education for Women Nawan Shahr),Dr Chamkor Singh ( Assistant Professor AS College for Women , Khanna) and Dr Jai Parkash ( Assistant Professor Aurbindo College of Management & Commerce ,Ludhiana)

The programme commenced with the introduction cum welcome address by the B.Ed. Programme Coordinator, Dr. Jaspal Singh Warwal. He briefed the participants on the life of GURU Gobind Singh Ji.

Dr. Pragat Singh Garcha impressed upon the need for personality of a teacher. However Dr. Yogesh Sharma highlighted the importance of positive attitude of a teacher . Additionally, Dr. Vikas Kumar explained the difference in Inclusive Education, Integrated Education and Special Education. Then Dr. Chamkor Singh stressed upon the need of women empowerment and entrepreneurship whereas Dr. Jai Parkash discussed the role of a teacher as an actor and he also explained transactional psychology in detail.

Extension lecture on DIET was provided by Guest Lecturer Dr.CL Shivgotra. Mr Shivgotra explained all the seven wings of DIET Jammu. He also shared his experience with the peer teachers related the trainings and Workshops of DIETs'. The entire event was successful because of the various committees made by the programme coordinator for the smooth conduct of the programme. The various committees behind the success of the event were - Reception Committee (Meenakshi, Shweta, Anuradha, Surbhi, Reetika, Preeti), Refreshment Committee( Neha, Rimpy, Poonam, Kajal, Sonali, Rittu), Discipline Committee (Indu Bala, Iqra Tabasum, Ajay Kumar, Khalda Parveen, Anjali, Amanpreet Singh, Yasmeen), and Stage Management Committee (Archana, Vishali, Shivani ,Mansi Bamba, Rahul). Last but not least the Media Incharge (Neha Verma, Smily Raina and Mr Sumeet Sawhney).

The event was concluded with vote of thanks by Dr. Jaspal Singh (B.Ed. Programme Coordinator) with Halwa Distribution among all the participants.